KARLOVY VARY (Carlsbad)
Carlsbad is a spa city situated in western Bohemia, Czech Republic, on the confluence of the rivers Ohře and Teplá, approximately 130 km (80.78 miles) west of Prague. It is named after King of Bohemia and Holy Roman Emperor Charles IV, who founded the city in 1370. It is historically famous for its hot springs (13 main springs, about 300 smaller springs, and the warm-water Teplá River).
In the 19th century, it became a popular tourist destination, especially for international celebrities visiting for spa treatment. The city is also known for the Karlovy Vary International Film Festival and the popular Czech liqueur Karlovarská Becherovka. The glass manufacturer Moser Glass is located in Karlovy Vary. The city has also given its name to the famous delicacy known as "Carlsbad plums". These plums (usually Quetsch) are candied in hot syrup, then halved and stuffed into dried damsons; this gives them a very intense flavour.
The city has been used as the location for a number of film-shoots, including the 2006 films Last Holiday and box-office hit Casino Royale, both of which used the city′s Grandhotel Pupp in different guises.
The spa town Jáchymov is well-known especially thanks to its mineral wealth, which significantly interferes with the history of the town as well as spa. Spa Jáchymov is the first radon spa in the world, which makes it unique and mush sought-after for many tourists. The rich history of Jáchymov can offer us view of beautiful historical monuments such as churches, town hall and the most well-known Royal Mint, all created in the twenties of the 16th century. The town building followed Renaissance ways, as well as the Freudenstein castle, thanks to rich deposits of silver ore.
Mariánské Lázně is the second largest Czech spa, which is very rich in mineral springs. There are forty springs within the area and one hundred in the immediate vicinity. The land consisting of today′s spa belonged to the Premonstrate Monastery of Teplá, whose abbot K. K. Reitenberger launched the construction of the original baths early in the 19th century, as envisioned by the monastery doctor J. J Nehr. According to the grandiose designs of the architect V. Skalník, terrain transformations were carried out, and parks were created. Today these, together with the numerous springs, represent the essential features of the town. In 1866, Mariánské Lázně was declared a city and by the beginning of the 20th century ranked among the most important spa centers in Europe.
FRANTIŠKOVY LÁZNĚ (Franz′s Spa)
Franz′s Spa was founded on 27 April 1793 as the Village of Emperor Franz and in 1807, it was officially named Františkovy Lázně The spa is named after Franz I, Emperor of Austria, who is considered as its founder.
The initially rural spa with a single spring known as Františkův pramen (Franz′s Spring), a wooden colonnade, a few spa houses and a Social House soon became one of the most sought-after European spa resorts.
The original village with lanes and the present-day Národní třída (National Avenue) serving as the spa promenade was broadened by three parallel streets to form a town layout. In order to achieve a genuine spa ambience, the current historical centre was surrounded by a wide belt of English parks that were to change the village into a garden town. All newly-built streets lead along the green belt, creating one of the most enchanting spa resorts in Europe – a spa embraced by a sea of parks and forest parks.
The tradition of spas in Trebon has come from using a natural healing source – peat. There are rich deposits of peat in the Trebon region bogs. The local peat is rich in iron and sulphur and it is used for the treatment of bones, muscles and joints. First spa in Trebon was opened in 1883. The town of Trebon gained its Spa town status in 1960. About 13 000 guests from the Czech Republic and many other European countries visit Trebon’s spas every year.